Ray Prim "To Whom It May Concern" album release party Sept. 15 at The North Door

Event at The North Door

All Ages

Tagged in: Concerts, Weekend, Cool & Unique

Austin-based soul singer-songwriter Ray Prim is thrilled to announce the upcoming release of his album "To Whom It May Concern" on Friday, Sept. 15. There will be an official release party on Sept. 15 at The North Door, located at 501 Brushy St., Austin, Texas 78702. Doors are at 7 p.m. and folk-funk songstress Suzanna Choffel will open the show at 8 p.m., followed by Prim and his band at 9 p.m. Presale tickets are $25 and include a signed CD. A limited number of VIP packages are also available. For more information on Prim, please see rayprim.com.

Prim's music is reminiscent of classic soul and R&B powerhouses such as Al Green and Isaac Hayes with hints of pop akin to The Beatles. His melodic, soulful voice and his relatable lyrics allow him to make a profound and deep connection with his audiences, and his upcoming album is no exception. Prim's band is composed of violinists April Stephens and Kristen Randolph, John Ray on the drums and percussion, Alberto Ferrer on the bass, Marianna Tanguy on the keys and vocalist extraordinaire Mexican Chocolate. With "To Whom It May Concern," Prim is sure to once again grace the Live Music Capital of the World with his passion and talent.

Known for his self-deprecating wit, Prim observed, "This album is by far the best record I've made in my luxurious career ... it's definitely going triple aluminum."
"To Whom It May Concern" was recorded, mixed and mastered by Omar Vallejo at 512 Studios. The album was produced by Ray Prim and Omar Vallejo. The string score on the track "Since 88" is by Dave Madden, and the string score on "No Need" is by local high school phenom Wil Brookhart. The album was funded by Black Fret.
Guest musicians on the album include Andre Moran, Tate Farrar and Ady Hernandez on guitar, Damon Garcia on the saxophone, Allen Sanders on the trombone, Alonzo Ellison on the trumpet, Tom Meny on the acoustic guitar, Michael Stevens on the stand up bass, James Clarke on the piano, Jason Elinoff and Adrian Jackson on the viola, Mitchell Wright on cello, Matthew Weinberg on the violin, Wil Brookhart on the double bass and Jessica Wheless on the cello. Fresh 2 Def Horns are featured on the track "I Promise." Other guest vocalists on the album are Ange Kogutz, Suzanna Choffel, Jennifer Kersey, Noelle Hampton and Tara Williams.

ChatterBlock Is the #1 Online Resource for Busy Parents

Discover Fun Things to Do

  • Browse upcoming events and ideas
  • tailored just for families.

Easily Find & Book Classes

  • Search for activities that fit your schedule,
  • and your child's needs.

Coordinate with Friends

  • Connect with your parent network
  • and share plans.